Author Topic: New Flir products  (Read 230302 times)

Offline Fraser

• Super Contributor
Re: New Flir products
« Reply #450 on: September 25, 2015, 11:12:57 am »
 As I stated, a very interesting find.

FLIR have not previously advertised a 30fps LEPTON yet they could have offered our American friends the option of such as they do for the TAU etc. It did cross my mind that this software development company had hacked the LEPTON to release its full 30fps but that is probably not likely.

The fact that something is ITAR controlled technology does not prevent its purchase or use outside the USA. I have been using ITAR controlled FLIR cameras for many years. It just means that the cameras have additional paperwork involved in their purchase. FLIR do the paperwork when they sell you the camera via one of their official agents. ITAR would be an issue if you were using the core in your own product and wished to sell it though.

I think I will drop Bill an email asking about this higher frame rate LEPTON. He is head of OEM activities so should know of this weapon sighting aid.

Fraser
If I have helped you please consider a donation : https://gofund.me/c86b0a2c

Offline nowlan

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #451 on: September 25, 2015, 12:06:57 pm »
au.rs have bumped their android eta to end of october. I think it was november recently.
Temporarily out of stock - back order for despatch 26/10/2015, delivery within 1 working days from despatch date.

Offline mct75

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #452 on: September 25, 2015, 12:18:58 pm »
Edit: and the guy is talking bullshit saying you can put it in front of your other optics and/or run a reddot through it.
Just wondering - why?

Surely if the screen and the lepton on this are aligned correctly, then looking through this through a red dot wouldn't disrupt the alignment of your sight?

It takes very special "glass" to pass LWIR light.   I'm sure they make thermal magnifiers, but they are not your run-of-the-mill sights.