Author Topic: Wiltron 560A Scalar Network Analyzer  (Read 6400 times)

Offline R_G_B_Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Wiltron 560A Scalar Network Analyzer
« on: December 27, 2014, 02:47:59 pm »

Hi I managed to get this old CRT Wiltron 560A Scalar Network Analyzer off ebay for a thew pounds I know its a network analyzer, but is it worth having? I don't know why I was bidding on the thing but I ended up winning it.

R_G_B

Offline KJDS

• Super Contributor
    • my website holding page
Re: Wiltron 560A Scalar Network Analyzer
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2014, 03:16:05 pm »
It needs a swept frequency source, directional coupler or bridge and three power detectors to make it useful.

Offline R_G_B_Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2014, 03:17:33 pm »
Thanks for your reply KJDS
R_G_B

Online G0HZU

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2014, 03:41:44 pm »
I have no experience in using this particular instrument but I agree with KJDS that you need a fair bit of extra hardware to make it useful.

In 2014 this old analyser is probably best suited to doing research/design work (on the cheap) up at >>10GHz if you can find suitable detector probes and a swept source and couplers etc.

The old HP8620C sweeper with a suitable plugin might be compatible (and cheap) but the stumbling block may be finding detector probes that are compatible and not already damaged by a previous user.

« Last Edit: December 27, 2014, 03:48:27 pm by G0HZU »

Offline larry42

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2014, 05:46:59 pm »
I managed to do something useful (e.g. gain vs amplitude measurement at 2-14GHz) with a 8756A - with detectors - that I borrowed. However, it required Python, an expensive power splitter,  an arb. waveform gen, a microwave sig gen and a GPIB card...
If you have an animated GIF in your avatar or signature then I reserve the right to think you're a dolt.

Offline Rupunzell

• Frequent Contributor