Author Topic: Which scope for (very) low freq signals ?  (Read 3023 times)

Offline guyd2Topic starter

Which scope for (very) low freq signals ?
« on: May 02, 2020, 02:08:15 pm »
Hello, my very first post here.

I am an E-musician, and I dabble a bit in analog electronics, mainly to create synthesizer modules et all.
Definitely not an engineer, but I do know the difference between a capacitor and a resistor (and a bit more).
I have no experience with microprocessors, AD/DA's, etc., and do not plan to get involved with that, mainly because I ain't no programmer either.
My scope (pun!) is restricted to op-amp applications, some CMOS logic, and anything that involves voltage control and audio. Thus, anything between DC and max 20kHz (plus sidebands/overtones/overshoots).

I'm in the market for a modern scope, since my old Rigol DS1052E is telling me "I've had enough, and I want to retire".
(it now takes forever to draw a 1Hz waveform at 1s sample rate, without a screen refresh; don't know why that came to be, but it's unworkable)

I've read quite a few posts here about scopes that I think might be of interest to me, but most discussions quickly veer off into mega-MHz territory and digital signal probing, and other high-end stuff which I reckon is of no use to me.
So, bandwidth is of no concern ~ 50MHz will do just fine I think.
Voltage range is important; I mostly work with -/+12V up to -/+18V supplies. That leaves out most USB scopes (of which I'm not a big fan).
Measuring/capturing very low frequencies is where most of my work is done ~ a 10min/cycle is not unusual. I couldn't find anything in this forum mentioning that...

Currently working on a clocking project where it would be nice to see 16 different pulse trains at once (divisions of 300Hz), though that would be a bonus.
Four channels would be nice (quadrature waveforms), but again, not an absolute must.