Author Topic: Siglent SDS1104X-E oscilloscope - mystifying trigger  (Read 1163 times)

Offline frank2644Topic starter

• Contributor
Siglent SDS1104X-E oscilloscope - mystifying trigger
« on: December 27, 2021, 06:30:53 pm »
The attached display trigger is mystifying to me. The "single" trigger is set for rising on channel 1 and yet it sometimes triggers almost randomly, or near the channel 2 signal as in attachment 1. The bottom half of the display is zoomed in-case there was a very short trigger but none is shown. On the same scope settings sometimes I get a good display showing the expected trigger signal(attachment 2). Again, many times the trigger signal is missing on the display as in attachment 1.

I'm trying to develop Arduino rotary encoder logic and not making much progress.

I'm kinda new to digital scopes so hopefully I'm missing something simple.

Any suggestions are welcome..
Frank

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDS1104X-E oscilloscope - mystifying trigger
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2021, 08:09:42 pm »
Try using a factory Default just in case some other mode/setting previously used is still active.

Another thing to consider is when using 2 channels and the sampling rate has dropped (top right near the frequency counter) is to instead use one of the channels on ch3 or 4 to have them on the 2nd ADC and maintain both higher sampling rates and also use the memory of the 2nd ADC.

BTW the easiest way to grab and present screenshots is capturing them to USB with the blue Print button.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

The following users thanked this post: frank2644

Offline Performa01

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2021, 01:39:32 am »
Make sure you're using "Normal" Trigger, not "Auto".

Offline frank2644Topic starter

• Contributor