Author Topic: Fluke 175 and 179 side-by-side / Backlight hack on Fluke 175  (Read 10077 times)

Offline CosPhiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Fluke 175 and 179 side-by-side / Backlight hack on Fluke 175
« on: April 30, 2014, 08:38:39 pm »
Hello

I bought a Fluke 175 multimeter for me just as an second meter. Already before I bought it, I was wondering, if it is possible to add an backlight on the Multimeter.

So I took the 175 to work, where we have 179's for everyday use (I'm an industrial electrician). I opened both and made some pictures side by side. On the left side on the pictures is the 179, on the right side is my new 175. The 179 is I think around 10 years old but still works well. Anyway I think the Fluke 179 is hard to beat as an everyday multimeter for everybody on work.

So  back to the backlight ... I did read somewhere her in the forum "it does beep" if you push the backlight button on the 175 pcb. But there was not more, just it "might" work.

And yes it not just beeps ... it also does "turn on" the backlight ... just all the resistors, the transistor, the led's are missing on the 175 pcb (and of course the button itself). But the controller does switch +3,3V. So when you add all the part's the backlight does work and shine :-+

There is also the prism missing on the 175 display, so it might be better to put the led direct into the display instead of on the pcb. I'm also not sure now how is the best an most "beautiful" way to add the button. The best and way would probably be to use an 177/179 button pad. Then the only thing you would have to do is to drill an hole into the housing.

Any ideas or inspiration?

martin

The following users thanked this post: sambonator

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Re: Fluke 175 and 179 side-by-side / Backlight hack on Fluke 175
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2014, 06:01:13 am »