Author Topic: Anti-static material - resistance  (Read 1344 times)

Offline TomS_Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Anti-static material - resistance
« on: March 05, 2019, 12:33:26 pm »
I bought an IC lead straightener tool off Amazon. The instructions on the box say it has a lug for attaching a ground strap.

Out of sheer curiosity I decided to measure it with a multimeter set to resistance, as the plastic had a texture which was unlike other anti-static plastics I have seen, and got no reading.

Im not a massive expert at this kind of thing, but I'd expect it to be slightly conductive and give a reading?

Offline threephase

• Regular Contributor
Re: Anti-static material - resistance
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2019, 02:55:17 pm »
Yes it should have, but it could well be in the GOhms range and a standard multimeter may not be able to read it.

Even if I test my anti-static work mat, my multimeter, a Keysight U1461, goes OL on resistance range, if I switch to to 50V insulation test, I get circa 10 GOhms.

Kind regards.

The following users thanked this post: TomS_

Offline exe

• Supporter
  • self-educated hobbyist
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2019, 02:58:16 pm »
Dave did a review of his esd mat. The upper part was unconductive.

Offline Zenith

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2019, 04:41:46 pm »
I Googled " IC lead straightener tool off Amazon" and the only one I found looks like the one I've got.

With a DMM with a 20MegOhm range, with one probe on the earth screw and another on the same piece of plastic a few millimetres away, it shows about 1 MegOhm. On the central piece of plastic with the probes a few mm apart, it shows about 5 MegOhm. On the other side piece of plastic I sometimes see a reading with both probe tips dug in.

It only needs to be slightly conductive to dissipate static and that may easily be missed with a normal DMM.

« Last Edit: March 05, 2019, 04:43:54 pm by Zenith »

Offline DaJMasta

• Super Contributor
    • medpants.com