Author Topic: The saga of my first oscilloscope  (Read 9076 times)

Offline elex_enthusiastTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Everything has user-salvageable parts inside!!!!
The saga of my first oscilloscope
« on: August 21, 2015, 05:21:07 pm »
Hi there,

Just want to share the joy of having my first oscilloscope. It's been quite long since I became a member here but this is the first time I started my own thread. I am an electronics hobbyist/repairer of consumer electronics for more than a year since I graduated. I am not a full time repairman (as I only do repairs to earn extra income, and I work as a social worker) and don't have much experience on repairing electronics. So to speak, I was learning things the hard way with only a few multimeters to depend on. Being poor and "equipment starved", I was having a hard time saving a few penny to buy an oscilloscope (without any idea where to outsource for a good one, and ebay is not an option since I am incapable of paying stuff online), I made a friend unexpectedly with a guy here a.k.a Terrahertz and offered his oscilloscope for free as he wants to get rid of stuff laying around his workshop. I didn't expect it, and never asked for it. But heh I couldn't resist his offer as much as I badly need it (it's a 20MHz BK precision 2120, and good enough for a giveaway scope). It's dead but he managed to fix it and send it to me with some other stuff. Here's how its story begun:

http://everist.org/NobLog/20150731_simple_scope_funny_fault.htm

After a few days of waiting with excitement, it finally arrived from Oz.

Everything was doing fine until I noticed that the channel one (above ) overshoots and the channel two (below) undershoots a bit. And it made me think that maybe the internal adjustments was changed due to handling while on its way to Philippines, but he actually didn't noticed it before sending :-BROKE