Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 16928710 times)

Offline m k

• Super Contributor
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #109525 on: December 24, 2021, 02:44:21 pm »
Eager repairman troubleshooting Fluke 8505A power.

Testpoints checked, 5V missing.
But where is the regulator, under the transformer cover ?!?!
Dang, imperial hex.
Advance-Aneng-Appa-AVO-Beckman-Danbridge-Data Tech-Fluke-General Radio-H. W. Sullivan-Heathkit-HP-Kaise-Kyoritsu-Leeds & Northrup-Mastech-REO-Simpson-Sinclair-Tektronix-Tokyo Rikosha-Topward-Triplett-Tritron-YFE
(plus lesser brands from the work shop of the world)

The following users thanked this post: Vince

Offline Vince

• Super Contributor
« Reply #109526 on: December 24, 2021, 02:49:51 pm »
Metrix type 920 RF generator

OK could not resist ! I emptied my box of BANANIA where I have been keeping all my salvaged power resistors for the past 30 years now, in search of a suitable dropper resistor for the power supply. Manual says it's 10K 10% and 2 Watts. The one in place is 8.2K and more like 10 Watts, way too big.

Spent an hour sorting through all these resistors, eventually got lucky and found not one but two 10K ones, with a more reasonable wattage to boot. 7 Watts, half the size of the existing one, and still 3+ times more than what Metrix meant to use... so should do it.

One is a ceramic bodied / sand packed one, with radial leads, and reads 9,75K which is 2,5%, so plenty accurate enough, meets the required 10% easily.

However I chose to use the other one, as was much better : much older package, looks more period / fitting, has axial leads which is what we need, and Fluke DMM measured it between 9,99 and 10.00K ! good enough for me !  ;D

So I soldered that in place, and measured voltages. Previously we got 157 Volts instead of 135 indicated on the schematic. Now I get 145 V ! Half way there, still 10 more Volts to go... hmmm... what gives.