Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 16956433 times)

Offline AVGresponding

• Super Contributor
  • Exploring Rabbit Holes Since The 1970s
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #97000 on: August 09, 2021, 09:35:24 pm »
Oh this has pissed me off this has.

About 10 years ago I bought a nice Blundell Harling acrylic ruler here for general use. It eventually wore out i.e. all the markings started coming off. So I ordered a replacement a few weeks back. I stuffed it next to my new one and the markings are slightly out. Finally found my metal ruler to compare. Looks like I've been using a quite frankly incorrect ruler for the last 10 years. This might explain a few problems!  >:(

Order top to bottom: New BH, Old BH, cheap chinese metal ruler.

Another "quality British product". Needs to be a turd emoji on this forum.

One can't expect a printed plastic ruler to be accurate. The markings are likely printed with either flexography  (I think the name gives away the potential issues here)  or screen printed  -again innately involving  the screen being elastically deformed during the printing process. Getting better than say 1/2 a mm in 300mm would be a tall order.

I wonder if evaporation/degradation of the plasticisers in the thing might affect its length over time..? I'm not familiar enough with the chemistry of these things to say for sure. I'd definitely trust a stainless rule to be more stable over time though.

@Specmaster
You got the £100 Tek 720 then  :-+

Nope, I won it with my maiden bid. Now waiting for a reply from factory (David) to see if he wants it.
nuqDaq yuch Dapol?
Addiction count: Agilent-AVO-BlackStar-Brymen-Chauvin Arnoux-Fluke-GenRad-Hameg-HP-Keithley-IsoTech-Mastech-Megger-Metrix-Micronta-Racal-RFL-Siglent-Solartron-Tektronix-Thurlby-Time Electronics-TTi-UniT

The following users thanked this post: Specmaster, bd139, factory

Offline med6753

• Super Contributor
  • Tek nut