Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 17696566 times)

Offline med6753

• Super Contributor
  • Tek nut
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #41775 on: October 27, 2019, 10:29:44 am »
Funny, that "Go Away" comment reminds me that my Mother had this for our "Welcome Mat" at the front door.  :-DD
An old gray beard with an attitude.

The following users thanked this post: bd139

Offline mansaxel

• Super Contributor
  • SA0XLR
    • My very static home page
« Reply #41776 on: October 27, 2019, 10:38:15 am »
Reminds me of Y2K. I was a manager of an equipment maintenance area responsible for device placement equipment. Full of PC/AT's with DOS, OS/2, and Win3.1. Months and months of prep work and we were all on site that night waiting for the world to collapse.

Not even a fucking whimper.  :wtf: :palm:

We did the same. It turned out the same. Best paid weekend ever.

The problem for sysadmins (and sound engineers, it is similar!) is that when you do your job, nothing untoward happens. No-one notices. And when the entire world is torn between champagne and doom expectations, and the sysadmins have done their homework, the doom fails to apply, people don't realise that they ought to ask for  more champagne but instead start questioning the lack of doom.

:palm:

Offline med6753

• Super Contributor
  • Tek nut
« Reply #41777 on: October 27, 2019, 10:43:01 am »
Reminds me of Y2K. I was a manager of an equipment maintenance area responsible for device placement equipment. Full of PC/AT's with DOS, OS/2, and Win3.1. Months and months of prep work and we were all on site that night waiting for the world to collapse.

We did the same. It turned out the same. Best paid weekend ever.