Author Topic: Rigol DHO914S high temperature / overheating probe inputs  (Read 735 times)

Offline maher8Topic starter

Rigol DHO914S high temperature / overheating probe inputs
« on: September 25, 2024, 06:03:44 am »
Hi guys!
Yesterday, my new Rigol DHO914S oscilloscope arrived. It works well, and I didn’t experience any software bugs during my short testing time. However, I noticed that the unconnected probe inputs on the oscilloscope feel hot to the touch (the AWG output on the back too). It causes pain if I hold them for too long, at around 50-60°C. The oscilloscope is warm on the outside. Is this normal for this oscilloscope? I have limited experience with oscilloscopes as a firmware developer, but the probe inputs on any scopes I’ve worked with before never got warm, let alone hot. Is this a typical Rigol issue, or should I return it before something burns due to the high temperature?

The cooling fan is working, the oscilloscope is on my desk with good airflow, my room temperature is around 23-24°C, and I’m using the standard power adapter that came with the scope. The scope was running for 2 hours, and the temperature remained stable, with the probe inputs staying at 50-60°C the entire time.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2024, 06:12:49 am by maher8 »

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: Rigol DHO914S high temperature / overheating probe inputs
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2024, 08:49:51 am »
Doesn't sound normal to me.

My DHO804 BNCs don't get much above ambient.

The following users thanked this post: maher8

Offline Elextro

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2024, 09:38:18 am »
My oscilloscope, which is a DHO 802, also get a little hot at the BNC inputs and at the rear AWG output. It is not a very high temperature, but I confirm that it does heat up. I think that the front inputs get hot because they are screwed to the frontal metal chassis which acts as a heatsink and shielding at time. Greetings