Author Topic: Tabor 8020 Function Generator - smoke escaped!  (Read 10378 times)

Offline ckmTopic starter

• Contributor
Tabor 8020 Function Generator - smoke escaped!
« on: March 22, 2014, 01:50:08 am »
All,

I've been putting together an electronics bench with a bunch of older electronics test equipment.   I'm not a pro in any way, but I have been designing electronics for many years as a hobby.

Well, I had an interesting adventure today.   I have a really nice Tabor 8020 20Mhz function generator I got for cheap and I was testing it with another cheap find today, a LeCroy LC534AL 1Ghz DSO....  I was just sitting there looking at the waveform when all of it went kinda funny.  Because the leads basically go across my desk and are just a probe connected to an aligator clip, I though it was just a bad connection.

Then I looked up and saw smoke pouring out of the 8020!  I wish I'd had the presence to record it but my first thought was to yank the power out of it....

Anyway, I opened it up quickly (while still hot) hopping I could find the source of the smoke...  Well, I didn't need to rush, here's what I discovered:

Tantalum caps roasted

Another shot

One of his friends that cooked off before....

Underside of board looks OK

Metal shielding took the brunt of the burn.

So basically, a couple of tantalum caps just lost it.   I'm trying to get the schematics from Tabor right now - luckily it's all one sided through hole.   Looks like I am going to have to replace most of the passives in the area.   

Does anyone have a good way of determining the values of passives if you can't read the markings?   Also, any thoughts on using something other than tantalums in this application?  Of course I have no idea what this part of the circuit does, although it was under a metal shield.

I'm also looking at that large yellow resistor & wondering if it was damaged as well...

Thoughts, ideas, action plans are most welcome.

Chris.