Author Topic: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815  (Read 638949 times)

PlainName and 7 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1175 on: July 07, 2023, 06:49:40 pm »
Kean,

I found an example for using the VISA with the TCPIP in VB6, starting page 72. copy edited and tested it. I found that using the win-sock, the data transfer is a little faster.    https://cdn.teledynelecroy.com/files/manuals/t3vna-programming-manual.pdf

Leave the USB/TCP on USB.
Use the "Connect TCP VISA" for using the VISA communication...    "Find and Connect" will revert to the USB/TCP Connection.
Your Rigol's IP address needs to be put in the box where I have my 192.168.0.155.
I tried 192.168.000.155 this did not work, it does not like the "000"

Using the VISA, the analyzer is put into RMT mode, however using the Win-sock it was not put in RMT mode.

I tested it on my RSA5065-TG.
Kean if the code won't load for you I can pull the Win-sock, and re-post for you. Thank you for the feedback, and making me learn new things.
   
« Last Edit: July 17, 2023, 12:07:35 pm by IRB »
 

Offline Kean

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2146
  • Country: au
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1176 on: July 09, 2023, 04:53:39 pm »
Kean if the code won't load for you I can pull the Win-sock, and re-post for you. Thank you for the feedback, and making me learn new things.

OK, Rev F still wont run without MSWINSCK.OCX
 
The following users thanked this post: IRB

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1177 on: July 10, 2023, 12:09:25 pm »
Kean,

I removed the winsock and the USB/TCP option buttons. I added a "Trace1 Update Stop" during the screen grab.
I added a button to the form in-case the transfer fails.
When it finishes the program will restart the Trace1 Update automatically.

Replace G with G2 I found a bug in the save file name, and added the file size expected to lower text box.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2023, 04:30:00 pm by IRB »
 

Offline Kean

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2146
  • Country: au
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1178 on: July 13, 2023, 06:37:39 am »
I can run this version on one of my PCs, but not my laptop (error about missing COMDLG32.OCX which I can fix later if needed).  Unfortunately still no joy in getting an screen image.
When I do run it, I can successfully connect via TCP, it shows my DSA815 info, and it seems to accept the various commands from the buttons - except for the screen grab feature....
It does nothing when I click that other than become slower to respond.  The attached screenshot is after clicking the Grab Screen Image button.  I waited a couple of minutes and no change.
 
The following users thanked this post: IRB

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1179 on: July 20, 2023, 07:46:16 pm »
Kean

Thank you for tring this again.

I found, I swapped the RSA and DSA file size test.

I hope you have time to try this again. You are the only one giving feed back and I appreciate it.
 

Offline Kean

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2146
  • Country: au
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1180 on: July 21, 2023, 07:30:36 am »
I hope you have time to try this again. You are the only one giving feed back and I appreciate it.

OK, still much the same result.  Nothing much happens when I click on Grab Screen Image.  I do see it send the command, but no response or image is shown.
Can you add some debugging message to show if it gets a response?  Or does it already have that, and I just don't see it?
 
The following users thanked this post: IRB

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1181 on: July 21, 2023, 11:58:00 am »
I added at text box with some debuging.  It should  show where in the program it's not getting to. 
Thank you again.
 

Offline Kean

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2146
  • Country: au
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1182 on: July 21, 2023, 12:12:10 pm »
I added at text box with some debuging.  It should  show where in the program it's not getting to. 
Thank you again.

I only get some of the messages, and I get an pop-up error every 8 seconds that I have to click on.
 

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1183 on: July 21, 2023, 12:45:38 pm »
I am looking in to it. Maybe I missed a close on the VISA but it is working on the RSA

That is telling me that the VISA is having an issue.

I am not that familiar with the VISA structure, they are just calls as far as I can tell.

Did you also get a message " No VISA resource was opened!" or

if you did then it looks like the Rigol was not enumerated.
It sounds strange considering you received the reply from the *IDN?

 

Offline Kean

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2146
  • Country: au
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1184 on: July 21, 2023, 12:51:57 pm »
Did you also get a message " No VISA resource was opened!" or

No other errors.

I suspect something like you suggest, such as a missing close of a resource or an invalid handle/reference being used.
I haven't coded for VISA, only direct SCPI via python code, so not sure what to suggest.  I don't know if debug logging can be enabled within VISA...
 
The following users thanked this post: IRB

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1185 on: July 21, 2023, 02:25:43 pm »
I have added a few more comments in to the box, and added a VIclose on exit.
The way I have it and in the examples I open a session  write/read then closed, so each time there is a new session number.

Here is where I think the failure...    status = viOpenDefaultRM(dfltRM)

https://www.ni.com/docs/en-US/bundle/ni-visa/page/ni-visa/viopendefaultrm.html
https://documentation.help/NI-VISA/viOpenDefaultRM.html
« Last Edit: July 21, 2023, 02:56:41 pm by IRB »
 

Offline KG7AMV

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 349
  • Country: us
  • Rhine_Labs
    • My Personal Blog
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1186 on: August 20, 2023, 09:46:57 pm »

For future reference: The TG License Key should NOT be entered, as it is already active in all of the DSA800-TGs.  So far it hasn't caused any known issues other than often showing up twice in unit's License Info list, and probably as expired, or similar for the one just added. And if you don't have a DSA800-TG it won't do anything for you, except that is to blog up your units firmware.

FYI on non TG units if you install the TG license and activate the TG Option, you will receive a message "Calibration Data of TG Lost" I have tried to Uninstall the TG Option but I have been successful. Not Sure if there is any way to write a cal file or disable TG Cal Check to get rid of the error or not.

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3271
  • Country: pt
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1187 on: August 20, 2023, 10:07:41 pm »
and the undocumented commands:

:SYSTem:LKEY:DELete
:SYSTem:LKEY:TDELete  (new since 00.01.19.00.02 - "Delete all Trial version option license key")

I have never tried the DEL command.

@PeDre,

Where have you seen this info? Do you think a USB vendor disk must be inserted in order for the commands to be accepted?
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3271
  • Country: pt
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1188 on: August 21, 2023, 08:36:29 pm »
So, let's follow PeDre's discoveries to DELETE LICENSES ON A RIGOL DSA8xx/7xx:

1. Create a USB vendor disk (instructions attached) and insert the disk in the Rigol DSA (should work in any model)

2. Activate FACTORY MODE, using the keys according to the attached sequence.

3. A Del Option will appear to allow the deletion of the licenses. WARNING: Once pressed, it will delete all licenses! (You'll need to re-insert the ones you want to retain.)

This procedure was investigated by @PeDre. It seems that currently there is no SCPI command implementation to delete the licenses.
 
The following users thanked this post: PeDre, KG7AMV

Offline KG7AMV

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 349
  • Country: us
  • Rhine_Labs
    • My Personal Blog
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1189 on: August 22, 2023, 10:17:29 am »
Confirm Working, Tried DD on Linux was No Go But PeDre hex editor method of prepping the flash drive worked great.

A Blank Slate and TG Cal Error Gone.

Lesson Learned On a Non TG Unit's Do Not Install TG or VSWR options. 

Thank You TV84, and PeDre



« Last Edit: August 22, 2023, 10:21:30 am by KG7AMV »
 

Offline RikV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: be
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1190 on: October 02, 2023, 09:26:25 pm »
I have been reading through this thread but I could not find an answer to this question:
  -Is the DSA815(-TG) field-upgradable to DSA832?
  -Is this purely software or (also) hardware? If so, is there -hypthetically- a hack?
 

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1191 on: October 05, 2023, 11:53:31 am »
I have been reading through this thread but I could not find an answer to this question:
  -Is the DSA815(-TG) field-upgradable to DSA832?
  -Is this purely software or (also) hardware? If so, is there -hypthetically- a hack?

I would have to go with no.

I sent my DSA-815-TG in for a upgraded board due to an issue in the design. I asked for an upgrade or even a trade in, Rigol replied that the board could not be upgraded to 3GHz. If I wanted to sell it and buy a 3GHz unit they do not buy back units. 
 

Online Wolfgang

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1810
  • Country: de
  • Its great if it finally works !
    • Electronic Projects for Fun
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1192 on: October 05, 2023, 01:50:55 pm »
AFAIK, DSA815 and DSA830 have different hardware, so no SW upgrade. Same with DSA875.
 

Offline RikV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: be
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1193 on: October 13, 2023, 06:27:03 pm »
IRB, Wolfgang: thanks for the insights. I supposed it would be this way but it was worth acking.
I wil investigate how to optimise the state of the firmware and options.
 

Offline IRB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: us
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1194 on: October 13, 2023, 08:26:26 pm »
IRB, Wolfgang: thanks for the insights. I supposed it would be this way but it was worth acking.
I wil investigate how to optimise the state of the firmware and options.

Rigol's Firmware page:
https://www.rigolna.com/firmware/
 

Offline RikV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: be
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1195 on: October 19, 2023, 04:02:39 pm »
I am aware of this Rigol page but I want to be 100% sure the update won't criple any of the options.
 

Offline RikV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: be
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1196 on: October 19, 2023, 11:05:08 pm »
I went through this tread once again only to  be more confused tha the first time.
This is what I have:
Model:      DSA815
Serial#     DSA8A16525xxxx
Main board: 00.08
Freq. FPGA: 00.05
Digit. FPGA: 00.04
Firmware: 00.01.08
Boot: 00.01.04

Options 1...5: Active:Yes (however nodescription of the option)
5 license keys available, no left time indicated.

Anyone who has any hints?
 

Offline RikV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: be
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1197 on: October 20, 2023, 06:38:22 pm »
Thanks Peter. I will do that. Is digital FPGA automatically upgraded To 00.05 in the run?
 

Offline RikV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: be
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1198 on: February 09, 2024, 08:59:31 pm »
I finally upgraded (step by step) to version 0.01.19 (Digital FPGA became 0.05 in the run).
I lost all option licenses!?
Is there a way to get them back? Before the upgrade I noted the license keys, but they are no longer accepted.
Tried to generate new keys with Riglol 1.1.2 but I got the same key values (using option AAAC, AAAE and AAAF).

Any suggestions?
 

Offline leowood

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: cn
Re: Spectrum Analyzer - Rigol DSA815
« Reply #1199 on: February 13, 2024, 11:55:48 am »
I have to say, thank you tv84, I finally get my all license back.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf