Author Topic: Siglent SSA-3021X Sideband "Angel Wings"?  (Read 848 times)

Offline nealixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Siglent SSA-3021X Sideband "Angel Wings"?
« on: August 02, 2020, 11:55:27 pm »
Hi:
I am fairly new at using this instrument (Newbie Alert), so this may simply be pilot error, or lack of experience.
We were looking at three different benchtop signal generators today at 10Mhz (HP, Marconi, Siglent 2042x),
to look at the waveform, noise, and spectral purity.   In all three cases, the 10Mhz signal from each generator showed
what looks like a pair of angel wings surrounding the main carrier.  On either side of the main carrier vertical spike,
there was a dip, and then a climb to a higher noise level, and then a very gradual trailing off.   But on the Rigol DSA-815
analyzer, all three signal generators had a more traditional/expected gradual rolloff/curve away from the main carrier.
A screenshot is attached.  I tried various values for span, RBW and VBW, including 1/3 ratios for RBW and VBW.
Am I using it wrong, or is this some artifact of the Siglent SSA-3021x?  Or worse yet, is this an issue with my specific
unit and main clock jitter or phase noise?

Neal

Offline 0culus

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics, RF, and TEA Hobbyist
Re: Siglent SSA-3021X Sideband "Angel Wings"?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2020, 12:18:52 am »
What does it look like closer in on the carrier?

I don't know anything about the RF circuits inside that particular analyzer, but you could also try a *very clean* external 10 MHz reference and see if that changes anything. The phase noise of the reference signal is pretty important, for obvious reasons. You could also figure out what the synthesis architecture is like and put signals in on different bands if they exist.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2020, 12:42:56 am »
Pretty typical when you use a wider Span.