Author Topic: RIGOL DSA-815 | Help With EMI Pre-certification Test  (Read 1574 times)

Offline Hyphen-BTopic starter

RIGOL DSA-815 | Help With EMI Pre-certification Test
« on: January 28, 2021, 04:57:03 pm »
Equipment: Rigol DSA815, EMI precertification test software, a bicon, a log, a preamp, and a comb generator.

Hello, everyone. I considered posting this topic in the Newbie forum, but my situation seems to be more specifically related to what's discussed here. I apologize if this is inappropriate, and will close the topic and move it if needed. Please bear with me if anything I say is either extremely obvious or just flat out wrong.

I work as an electrical assembler for a small company building light-industrial laser automation systems. Recently the owner of the company tasked me with EMI pre-certification of systems that will be subject to CE testing. I'm already in way over my head and have received very little training on how to actually do this.

Here's what I know:
I need to use a spectrum analyzer to determine that the Qpeaks of the radiated emissions fall under acceptable limits for EN55011. Our systems are considered to be Class A Group 1, and I'll be testing at a distance of 3m. This gives me a limit of 50dBuV/m for 30-230 Mhz, and 57dBuV/m for 230Mhz-1Ghz.

Here's my test setup:

I'll be testing the system in situ in an empty warehouse across the street. Not the best environment, I'm sure, but it is what it is. I'll be using a 48v PSU to drive an inverter in order to step the AC frequency down to 50hz, as this system is going to Europe. Inside the system is a 650w PSU and a 40w CO2 laser with an internal RF driver. I am not using the preamp right now because I don't fully understand what it's for or how it works.

Here are my analyzer settings:

This is what really has me scratching my head: