Author Topic: Siglent SDS2000X-HD Specific Questions  (Read 647 times)

Offline KowolskiTopic starter

Siglent SDS2000X-HD Specific Questions
« on: June 04, 2024, 04:19:36 am »
Hi Folks,

Newbie here, though I've been sitting on the sidelines and watching and learning for a short while. It's been great... though I've needed aspirin after a few late nights :) - and I seem to walk around all day hearing Dave's voice in my head  :palm: (what a legend he is)

I'm about to buy a Siglent SDS2000X-HD. I need some of the fruit too (protocol bundle opt, power analysis opt, Logic analyser opt & cable etc). I was wondering if anyone could help with the following questions to help me decide what to actually buy:

1 - Is the SDS2000X-HD hackable to upgrade bandwidth and options? I've seen the thread on the SDS2000X-Plus's been hackable but couldn't find if this applies to the three models in the SDS2000X-HD series?

2 - Is my understanding correct that the SDS2104X-HD, SDS2204X-HD, and SDS2354X-HD are all exactly the same inside, its just software licenses are required to unlock options and additional bandwidth?

Answers will be a huge help for me as it might allow me to just buy the SDS2104X-HD and LA cable rather than the unlock licenses and bandwidth upgrade as well (I'm stretching to the limit to get this box).

Thanks in advance!

Offline H.O

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Siglent SDS2000X-HD Specific Questions
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2024, 04:56:38 am »
The HD uses a different license scheme than the 2000X+ and others so the readily available Python scripts does not work. As far as I know it HAS been hacked/upgraded so it IS possible (of course) but the information on how to do it has not been made public, at least not here on the forum.

The hardware is exactly the same as far as I'm aware.
After all, you can purchase 100MHz to 500MHz upgrade license and that wouldn't really work if the hardware was different.

The following users thanked this post: tautech

Online tautech