Author Topic: Siglent SDS1104X-E vs. Micsig STO1004 Plus  (Read 2584 times)

Offline balnazzarTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Siglent SDS1104X-E vs. Micsig STO1004 Plus
« on: August 28, 2022, 12:18:15 am »
Hi Folks. First time I post here on EEVblog forum.

I'm a beginner. A few weeks ago I bought a Hantek DSO2D15, and I'm not satisfied with it. Very limited signal generator, some bugs, and crappy software, so I'll return it.

I made peace with the fact that one cannot have a good scope with integrated signal generator for cheapo, so, as of today, I narrowed my choices to the models above.

I'm not considering the Siglent U-type since it has too many limitations for just 120 less (less effective FFT, no bode plots, no web browser control, no possibility to unlock it to get WiFi, only 1 mem module, limited 4-ch bandwidth).

The Micsig seems to be a good scope (twice the memory depth of the siglent), integrated wifi, ability to run on battery (a very nice thing to have). OTOH, these fiddly joistick controls that IDK how much will last, a very reflective screen (but you can use it with a computer monitor at home). If you can mention other negatives, please do.

OR, I can open the wallet and go for the rigol MSO5000 (the black series). But I don't know if it's worth the money.

What do you think?

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: Siglent SDS1104X-E vs. Micsig STO1004 Plus
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2022, 08:14:25 am »
Micsigs come with matte screen protectors that really work well. I hate shiny screens but I'm completely happy with my Micsig. The trick to putting on big screen protectors is to put masking tape under the corners so you can lift up up and put it back again without picking at it with your fingernails. Got a grain of dust? Lift it up and grab it with another bit of masking tape. Repeat as many times as needed. Remove the tape from the corners when it's perfect. Never pick at the corners with your fingernails.