Author Topic: R&S. Seriously?  (Read 15366 times)

Offline Yago

• Frequent Contributor
Re: R&S. Seriously?
« Reply #25 on: February 03, 2014, 07:38:44 pm »
SM7b mic, "voice of god" plug-in, pitch shifted down a little, plus I think some dodgy editing where words are cut and pasted together from different takes/sections.

Sounds like they were trying to go for the big "Coming soon" at the movies voice and missing the mark (perhaps with a bit of Neo thrown in).

Heard and seen worse, a lot worse.

Offline manticore00

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #26 on: February 03, 2014, 07:51:19 pm »
I've never had to buy T & M equipment like this in a professional sense, but I've got plenty of experience buying software and systems and this sort of marketing never grabs my attention. Maybe this stuff is focus a CxOs and other higher ups, but when it eventually filters down to my level I tend to give the marketing speak short shrift and just say, "give me a live demo and then let me play with it." My first hurdle is always what Dave uses when testing kit, if as an educated and experienced engineer I can't do a basic install and have a go at it without reading the manual they lose a lot of points(I'm looking at you Oracle/IBM). It may sound silly, but when you've got to manage it and have varying degrees of talent/skill in staff, intuitive UI makes a bit difference. Performance metrics always are big point earners for me too.

Again, I deal with software and blackbox appliances rather than T & M stuff. Anyone that's more deeply involved with that professionally able to chime in? Maybe there are some marketing-droids on this forum who'll read it.  ;)
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam

Offline david77

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #27 on: February 03, 2014, 08:31:05 pm »
The way he pronounces R&S... Arde and Sharts...

:lol:

I found the voice quite annoying, like someone announcing the next big crappy Hollywood blockbuster.