Author Topic: Rigol DS1022C - Good for first scope?  (Read 4363 times)

Offline xcaliburTopic starter

• Contributor
Rigol DS1022C - Good for first scope?
« on: March 03, 2019, 01:19:12 pm »
Hi Everyone. I'm an electronics hobbyist from South Africa looking for some knowledgeable feedback.

I am currently tinkering and learning about AC to DC conversion, regulation, stabilisation etc. and I am fascinated by it. Not having an oscilloscope to visualise and measure changes I make to my circuits are frustrating. I have also often found myself trying to debug the odd PWM signal and saying "Man, I wish I had an oscilloscope".

I found a secondhand Rigol DS1022C (25Mhz) selling for $198 (R2800 ZAR), but I have mixed feelings. Is it too old, too slow, too expensive? I do not see myself going into the RF field any time soon so the Mhz might be OK?

I really need some feedback from someone that knows more than me. Should this be my first scope or should I keep looking?

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
Re: Rigol DS1022C - Good for first scope?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2019, 01:48:57 pm »
That's is too expensive! A brand new DS1054DZ with four channels and 50MHz (upgradable to 100MHz for free via riglol, more RAM, protocol decoders) is US$375. And if you're lucky you can find an used CRO for 50 bucks.

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2019, 01:59:33 pm »
Positive: In theory it can be hacked to 100MHz:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hacking-the-rigol-ds1022c-to-100mhz/

Negative: The screen is very small, it quite old and has limited features compared to newer 'scopes.

The model that replaced the DS1022C costs R3655 brand new: https://www.tequipment.net/RigolDS1052E.html/

R2800 for an old, previous generation model with no warranty isn't a good price. You need to haggle.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2019, 02:05:47 pm by Fungus »

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2019, 06:31:12 am »