Author Topic: Rigol DG4102 issue????  (Read 3600 times)

Offline GrosseinatorTopic starter

• Supporter
Rigol DG4102 issue????
« on: August 31, 2013, 07:57:00 pm »
To start I am a second year electronics student with some new toys and I am still learning.  Hopefully my problem I am having is related to my inexperience or something stupid and not faulty equipment.  So...

I am using the Rigol DG4102 func gen as well as the Rigol DS2102 scope (the new toys).  I built a simple (standard) full wave bridge rectifier with four diodes(1N4004, tested as all working) and just a 1.5k 1/4W resistor across the output for a load.   I used the func gen to inject a sine wave of 60Hz and 12Vpp into the bridge. I first placed the scope probe across the output of the func gen (while connected to the circuit) to confirm the signal and I get the correct full sine wave displayed on the scope. I next placed the ch 1 (I only use the one channel probe) probe across the resistor, but instead of a fully rectified sine wave I get the equivalent of a half wave rectified sine wave.  I used a fluke 87 V and confirm the average V and presence the right amount of DC Voltage for a half wave rectified sine wave.

I took the circuit to school and used their equipment and confirm the circuit is working perfectly.  So I took the ac supply (it's just a step down transformer with a fuse and a switch plugged into the wall outlet) home and used that to input a sine wave into the circuit (to test my scope is not the problem) and I do in fact get the fully rectified sine wave one would expect.  So (sorry for the length of explanation) it seems the fault lies in the func gen or my ability to use it.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Also a week ago I was trying to pass a square wave through an AND gate (yes it works) using the func gen and had equally frustrating experience.  My guess is that the func gen is not working, but don't want to jump to that conclusion just yet.

Offline PA0PBZ

• Super Contributor