Author Topic: Replacement Insulation tester - UNI-T UT51x series?  (Read 2644 times)

Offline WaveyDipoleTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Replacement Insulation tester - UNI-T UT51x series?
« on: January 03, 2020, 05:36:20 pm »
My Robin model 3001 insulation tester failed recently. It was working when last used a few months ago, but recently when I wanted to use it, I found that it was giving me no readings on the HV ranges, and the reading on the Low Ohms setting were erratic. I cannot find a circuit diagram so am a bit lost regarding diagnosing the problem so have been wondering what to replace it with? I don't want to spend more then 200GBP, preferably much less as I am a hobbyist and would only need to use it occasionally.

I found a couple of Fluke 1520's on eBay, but then discovered a thread where someone who had two in storage suddenly found that both had failed. The problem seemed to be a fried IC which apparently was suspiciously close to a HV track, the track also running via the function selection switch. I therefore decided to avoid this handheld. Considering my Robin failed is also a handheld, this also kind dissuaded me from looking at handheld devices. I also looked at used Megger BM11 and similar devices, but these types of devices are huge and for me, space is a consideration.

I then came across the UNI-T UT51x series of devices. These appear to be robust and although larger than a typical multimeter, seem much smaller than those devices in yellow cases. They are cheap enough to fit the budget and Dave's teardown of the UT513 gives it the thumbs up. Of course, not having access to them, he was unable to comment on other models in the range. The only other information I could find was this thread:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/uni-t-ut511-insulation-tester-unboxing-and-preview/msg187133/#msg187133