Author Topic: Recommendation Request - NEW Rigol DS1054Z or USED Tektronix 2467BHD  (Read 41205 times)

Offline vk6zgo

• Super Contributor
Re: Recommendation Request - NEW Rigol DS1054Z or USED Tektronix 2467BHD
« Reply #25 on: November 07, 2015, 02:08:21 am »
As most have said, the Rigol is the way to go. My own experience was 40+ years of analogue scopes as a servicing tech, I retired and "put up with" a dual beam 100 MHz Philips scope, it had a few minor faults (dirty switches, poor triggering, etc.) and then finally blew the power supply.

I had fancied a digital scope for some time but the early ones were pretty awful (at least in my price range). When the old scope failed, I bought a 1054Z based on Dave's video review and don't regret it at all. The saving in shelf space alone was worth it  :-+

These days the scope is used for ham radio development and construction, the four channels are great to measure timing of control circuits, something that is tedious with a dual channel analogue scope and child's play with the 1054Z. I doubt the Rigol will last as long as the Philips did, but they are cheap enough and by then I probably won't care either.

Tedious with a 2 channel,maybe,but not with a 7000 series Tek with two vertical plugins!

Offline Rupunzell

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #26 on: November 07, 2015, 06:12:05 am »
For those who do near zero work with digital this becomes a non-significnat feature... along with the data box.

The proper choice of DSO-MOS -vs- analog is a LOT more complex than a DSO's ability to store, retrieve, digitize and transmit converted data.

Those who are truly aware is likely going to choose the ideal instrument to fit a specific need. DSO-MSO domination of the time domain instrument market today appears to be due to the sheer-mass number of digital centric electronics folks along with software centric pre-packaged hardware offerings use to make the vast majority of techno widgets today.

Bernice