Author Topic: Recommendation for used oscilloscope  (Read 3139 times)

Offline itsikhefezTopic starter

Recommendation for used oscilloscope
« on: August 02, 2019, 03:48:13 pm »
(first post here)

Hey all,
I'm looking to buy a used analog oscilloscope.
I am an electronics beginner and build SS and tube audio amplifiers and am looking for a tool that can help debug and inspect the circuit.
The most immediate task will be to inspect the power supply input/output of a tube amp I am building.
I have a different setup with sound card for FFT and such.

I've been looking at Craiglist and Offerup for a while and nothing has come up... so am willing to pay a bit more.
On eBay, I have found Tektronix 2225, 2235 and Hitachi V-422 and V-660 for about ~150 shipped (some a bit above some below).

Any of these recommended for the above use case?
Thanks!

Offline Grandchuck

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Recommendation for used oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2019, 08:32:20 pm »
Used Tektronix oscilloscopes can be a good buy.  However, be sure you can return it if it does not work properly.  Don't forget about probes.  If the one you buy does not come with them, you will have to buy them.  Some of the inexpensive eBay probes are fine for hobby use.

Good luck!

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2019, 08:44:15 pm »
Those are all good options, I would also include the older Tek 465B in the running, I have one I bought about 20 years ago and it's a great scope. The Hitachi scopes you mention are also quite nice, I had one for a while that someone gave me, they're more compact than the Tek and the one I used had a very nice sharp tube. They tend to be a bit cheaper than Tek as well since the Tek name usually carries a premium.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2019, 02:56:35 am »
For Tektronix in order of age from oldest to newest I recommend:

455/465M   Military 465
475A
465B

2335/2336/2337

2235/2236