Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 646668 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2764
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3675 on: October 01, 2024, 06:30:32 pm »
It is a designed interlock, some stuff is disabled while logging. This is basically anything that can affect the number of columns on the Table page.

Ah, that makes sense. Thank you.
"Right now I’m having amnesia and déjà vu at the same time. I think I’ve forgotten this before." - Steven Wright
 

Offline jwells777

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3676 on: October 10, 2024, 04:13:34 pm »
Just wanted to say thanks for the quick update.  It is appending the different numbers to the meters as you suggested; however, it appears that the data actually reported is still simply reporting one of the meters twice.
 

Offline Geofrey

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: fr
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3677 on: October 15, 2024, 08:15:30 pm »
Hi HKJ,
Thank you very much for this very useful software. I am sharing my small contribution to it, with a first version of the device file for the BCS6401 source/sink PSU.
Note to users : as is, the 4th command in a row in a script get ignored, unless a delay is added after the 3rd command. For example :
Code: [Select]
=setVoltage(ps,4.2)
=setCurrent(ps,1.5)
=setResistance(ps,0)
#delay 0.5
=setOn(ps,1)
is ok, but without the #delay 0.5, =setOn(ps,1) is ignored.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3678 on: October 16, 2024, 03:53:25 pm »
Hi HKJ,
Thank you very much for this very useful software. I am sharing my small contribution to it, with a first version of the device file for the BCS6401 source/sink PSU.
Note to users : as is, the 4th command in a row in a script get ignored, unless a delay is added after the 3rd command. For example :
Code: [Select]
=setVoltage(ps,4.2)
=setCurrent(ps,1.5)
=setResistance(ps,0)
#delay 0.5
=setOn(ps,1)
is ok, but without the #delay 0.5, =setOn(ps,1) is ignored.

I will add it with a note about it only supporting logging and interface.
You can directly add delay to each command by adding ;[100] to a command (100 is 100ms).
 
The following users thanked this post: Geofrey

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3679 on: October 16, 2024, 03:54:02 pm »
Just wanted to say thanks for the quick update.  It is appending the different numbers to the meters as you suggested; however, it appears that the data actually reported is still simply reporting one of the meters twice.

Then I cannot fix it with my current USB code.
 

Offline Curious

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3680 on: October 19, 2024, 09:14:57 pm »
Hi, Simple  question; does TestController have a setting/command to prevent Windows PC from going into Sleep-mode while logging/recording?  My Windows7 machine seems to usually fall into sleep-mode and stop logging.  Thanks!
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3681 on: October 21, 2024, 09:21:28 am »
Hi, Simple  question; does TestController have a setting/command to prevent Windows PC from going into Sleep-mode while logging/recording?  My Windows7 machine seems to usually fall into sleep-mode and stop logging.  Thanks!

No, you need to adjust that in Windows.
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 261
  • Country: 00
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3682 on: October 22, 2024, 07:09:00 am »
Here is the definition files I made for the Hantek bench meters (HDM3055 and HDM3065) and power supplies (HDP4324 and HDP4424) if anyone is interested.
 
The following users thanked this post: Kirkhaan

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3683 on: October 22, 2024, 10:46:09 am »
Here is the definition files I made for the Hantek bench meters (HDM3055 and HDM3065) and power supplies (HDP4324 and HDP4424) if anyone is interested.

They will be included in next release, it is a long list of DMM models you have included  ;D
Thanks.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3684 on: October 27, 2024, 08:30:16 am »
V2.49 is up
A couple more devices, some bugfixes, a new popup and a few internal additions.
   Added: Hantek HDP4424B, Hantek HDP4424 power supplies (Thanks Microcheap)
   Added: Hantek HDP4324B, Hantek HDP4324 power supplies (Thanks Microcheap)
   Added: Hantek HDM3065H, HDM3055, HDM3055B, HDM3055A, HDM3055S, HDM3055H bench DMM (Thanks Microcheap)
   Added: B&K Precision BCS6401 for logging and interface (Thanks Geofrey)
   Added:  UNI-T UDP3305S and UDP3305S-E lab power supplies (Thanks thephil)
   Fixed: GridPanel/SinglePanel math channel fail when one is closed.
   Fixed: Reload bug in AR488 driver (Thanks flash2b for the good logging to show the problem).
   Added: MPPT (Maximum power point tracking) popup, it is fairly simple, but makes it possible to test solar panels.
   Added: PrintLog to programming language, it will print to the log window
   Added: Virtual harmonic generator, this is for testing TC with harmonic data.
   Added: Virtual multi sinus generator, this is only for testing TC with multi channel data (up to 512).
   Fixed: Block protocol on socket.
   Added: Setting "Fast charting" for speeding up charting on slow machines.
   Fixed: Scales for chart, decimals column was damaged in last version
   Updated: Kollmorgen AKD2G servo driver (Thanks gby)
   Added: Tasi TA612C 4 channel Thermocouple Logger (Thanks gby)
   Updated: Rigol DP832, DP832A (Thanks Gulftown)
   Added: Keithley 199 Bench DMM (No support for scanner) (Thanks Gertjan)



This popup can (together with a load) be used to log solar panel performance or compare multiple panels/placements.

 
The following users thanked this post: blackdog, croma641, flash2b, Geofrey

Offline bikeNomad

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3685 on: October 27, 2024, 08:50:25 pm »
Looks like just the program I need!

Only problem is that I can't figure out how to use my Xyphro USBGPIB adapters to talk to my gear.

These adapters are not USB-CDC (USB serial) based like the Prologix; instead they're actual USB TMC (test & measurement class) devices.

They are immediately visible using PyVISA without installing drivers.

I see there is a Java library for talking to USB-TMC devices: https://github.com/javatmc/javatmc-core
I'm an autodidact who believes in Sturgeon's Law and wants to continue contributing to the creation and improvement of the other 10% of everything.
 

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 823
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3686 on: October 28, 2024, 07:17:17 am »
Unfortunately Test Controller does not work with TMC devices.
This is really the only downside of Test Controller.
Agilent 34465A, Siglent SDG 2042X, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Peaktech 2025A, Voltcraft VC 940, M-Audio Audiophile 192, R&S Psophometer UPGR, 3 Transistor Testers, DL4JAL Transistor Curve Tracer, UT622E LCR meter, UT216C AC/DC Clamp Meter
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3687 on: October 28, 2024, 10:18:30 am »
I see there is a Java library for talking to USB-TMC devices: https://github.com/javatmc/javatmc-core

That library do not support USB-TMC and has not been updated for a couple of years.
 

Offline Kirkhaan

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3688 on: October 28, 2024, 02:57:56 pm »
What an amazing tool! Kudos to the creator and contributors!  :-+

Is there perhaps somebody that made a configuration file for the Keithley 2000 with GPIB?
The current file only supports RS232.

I am unfortunately not skilled enough in programming to create it myself :(
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3689 on: October 28, 2024, 03:25:24 pm »
What an amazing tool! Kudos to the creator and contributors!  :-+

Is there perhaps somebody that made a configuration file for the Keithley 2000 with GPIB?
The current file only supports RS232.

I am unfortunately not skilled enough in programming to create it myself :(

Adding support for GPIB can be as simple as changing this line in the definition:

#port com
to
#port com gpib

and then use a supported GPIB adapter, that is a bit limited. A Arduino Nano with AR488 software is usually a good solution.

Sometimes a bit more needs to be done, but that has to be found out by testing.
 
The following users thanked this post: Kirkhaan

Offline Kirkhaan

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3690 on: October 28, 2024, 08:25:01 pm »
Thanks HJK, tried that but it does not work.
There is something happening though. The K2000 goes into LSTN (Instrument addressed to listen over GPIB).

I am using a Keysight GPIB adapter under Ubuntu 24, which works fine so I would expect that is not an issue.

When I start TestController in debug mode, the tc.log file remains empty.

I guess its the configuration file that needs some tweaks. Any other suggestion?

Appreciate it!!

What an amazing tool! Kudos to the creator and contributors!  :-+

Is there perhaps somebody that made a configuration file for the Keithley 2000 with GPIB?
The current file only supports RS232.

I am unfortunately not skilled enough in programming to create it myself :(

Adding support for GPIB can be as simple as changing this line in the definition:

#port com
to
#port com gpib

and then use a supported GPIB adapter, that is a bit limited. A Arduino Nano with AR488 software is usually a good solution.

Sometimes a bit more needs to be done, but that has to be found out by testing.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3691 on: October 29, 2024, 07:11:51 am »
Thanks HJK, tried that but it does not work.
There is something happening though. The K2000 goes into LSTN (Instrument addressed to listen over GPIB).

I am using a Keysight GPIB adapter under Ubuntu 24, which works fine so I would expect that is not an issue.

When I start TestController in debug mode, the tc.log file remains empty.

I guess its the configuration file that needs some tweaks. Any other suggestion?

You cannot just use a random GPIB adapter, the adapter must be defined in the GPIB popup and it only knows a very limited number of GPIB adapters. The address line must list the defined GPIB adapter id, not just the word GPIB
 

Offline Kirkhaan

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3692 on: October 30, 2024, 06:37:28 am »
OK, thanks for the explanation.
It does not sound easy (at least for me  ;)) to add my Keysight 82357B.

Let me reconsider how to move forward.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3693 on: October 30, 2024, 10:19:48 am »
OK, thanks for the explanation.
It does not sound easy (at least for me  ;)) to add my Keysight 82357B.

Let me reconsider how to move forward.

The GPIB popup looks like this:



Each line defines a GPIB adapter and how it is connected to the PC.


The load devices page looks like this:



Where the C: references the GPIB adapter with a C in the ID column.
 

Offline Kirkhaan

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3694 on: October 30, 2024, 01:08:05 pm »
Understood, sorry for my ignorance.
I will search for a supported GPIB adapter.

Unless somebody can help to add the Keysight 82357B  8)
 

Offline le_avion

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3695 on: October 31, 2024, 05:46:16 am »
I am having a problem getting the program to work with my BM869s in Linux. The program works fine in Windows 11 but my main machine is a Linux machine.

It is visible through lsusb:
Bus 002 Device 008: ID 0820:0001 Brymen Superior DMM

The Load Devices page shows the DMM with an address
Brymen BM869s       USBHID   147217   -   true   

But the log shows that the program starts a thread for the DMM and then shortly after stops the thread.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Code: [Select]
;; jSerialComm version: 2.10.3
;; Start thread for: HIDv0820p0001 - Brymen BM869s
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 046D C332  30 36 36 31 33 36 35 38 33 39 33 33
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 046D C332  30 36 36 31 33 36 35 38 33 39 33 33
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 065A 0001  48 30 30 31
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 0557 2213 
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 0557 2213 
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 320F 5000 
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 320F 5000 
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found HID: 0820 0001  11 3F 02
;; HIDv0820p0001: Found usb device: /dev/hidraw8
;; HIDv0820p0001: Rx: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
;; Stopping thread for: HIDv0820p0001 - Brymen BM869s

;; Use "Load devices" page for selecting devices to load. Most devices will only load if they are connected and ready.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2024, 05:48:03 am by le_avion »
 

Offline fricci

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3696 on: October 31, 2024, 09:57:49 am »
I am working on a configuration file for Volison ADM-4280-C, eight input 16 bit ADC for Modbus RTU. Although I already wrote a working configuration file almost complete, I did not find a solution due to the fact the converter module uses different full scale value when changing the range as shown below:
Range: 0-5V Input register value: 0-20000 (0V = 0, 5V = 20000)
Range: 0-10V Input register value: 0-10000 (0V = 0, 10V = 10000)

Then I have to scale differently the displayed value of the input register when the range is changed. How to do it?
Any hints would be appreciated.

Here is the relevant part of the code:
===============================================
; Return 0, 1 or 2 - 0=10V, 1=5V, 2=Disabled
#scpiCmd CH0RangeIndex? holding? 0x0020

#scpiCmd CH0? holding? 0x0000 /1000   <--- This should change from /1000 to /4000 when CH0 range changes from 10V to 5V!

#value CH0 V D3
#askValues CH0?
===============================================
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3697 on: October 31, 2024, 10:19:55 am »
I am having a problem getting the program to work with my BM869s in Linux. The program works fine in Windows 11 but my main machine is a Linux machine.

USB-HID is only supported on Windows, sorry about that.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3037
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3698 on: October 31, 2024, 10:29:15 am »
I am working on a configuration file for Volison ADM-4280-C, eight input 16 bit ADC for Modbus RTU. Although I already wrote a working configuration file almost complete, I did not find a solution due to the fact the converter module uses different full scale value when changing the range as shown below:
Range: 0-5V Input register value: 0-20000 (0V = 0, 5V = 20000)
Range: 0-10V Input register value: 0-10000 (0V = 0, 10V = 10000)

Then I have to scale differently the displayed value of the input register when the range is changed. How to do it?
Any hints would be appreciated.

Here is the relevant part of the code:
===============================================
; Return 0, 1 or 2 - 0=10V, 1=5V, 2=Disabled
#scpiCmd CH0RangeIndex? holding? 0x0020

#scpiCmd CH0? holding? 0x0000 /1000   <--- This should change from /1000 to /4000 when CH0 range changes from 10V to 5V!

#value CH0 V D3
#askValues CH0?
===============================================

You cannot change any definitions on the fly, you have to use the calculator/programming functions.
This meas :readmath: tags, in them you can use variables and the variables are defined with :setvar:

Note: Variables has to be created and initialized, this is done by using :setvar: on something line #initCmd



 

Offline fricci

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #3699 on: October 31, 2024, 01:52:49 pm »
Thank you for your help.

I agree and it is exactly what I would make in a standard programming language. Unfortunately I never understood how to make variables working in Test Controller. Their scope is something simply I don't understand. I can create a variable, but after I am not able to retrieve it, or I am not able to retrieve WHERE I need it. I made a lot of testing also with global variables, but without  success.
Only variables in function #pgm# work as expected, anyway I was not able to pass the content of a variable to the custom function, just immediate values. So, after several days I gived up......

Now I simply try to avoid them, that's why my question, although I understand that in this way what I can do in Test Controller programming is quite basic.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf