Author Topic: NI GPIB-ENET/100 access without NI drivers in Python?  (Read 255 times)

Offline r6502Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
NI GPIB-ENET/100 access without NI drivers in Python?
« on: August 09, 2024, 04:32:59 am »
Hello all,

a time ago i got a NI GPIB-ENET/100, and used it together with labview (community edition) to collect data from my test gear.

meanwhile I'f a new mac PC, where the old drivers from NI do no longer work. Is there a chance, to get direct access tot the GPIB-ENET / 100 devise  with help of  Python?  I've looked at the NI forum, also here bud did not find any usefully information for this device. for the older one the GPIB-ENET there is something avelable but does not work with the newer GPIB-ENET/100.

Does somebody have information about the protocol of the GPIB-ENET/100?

Is it be an option, to use an older PC with a network sniffer, to reverse engineer the protocol? I have no experience with this. For me it would be very practical to connect the GPIB-ENET/100 to my local network, and than use any connectec PC to collect data just with one connection.

I thank everybody,  who would share  information here.

Guido
Science can amuse and fascinate us all, but it is engineering that changes the world - - Isaac Asimov

Offline dietert1

• Super Contributor
    • CADT Homepage
Re: NI GPIB-ENET/100 access without NI drivers in Python?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2024, 06:43:41 am »
Had the same question but did not post.
I never tried shared access, like using two different GPIB devices on the bus each one from a different ethernet host. Unless that works the NI interface is obsolete as it is equivalent to a USB interface for € 70. I think GPIB-ENET ebay prices of up to 1000 € are fantasy. For that price one can setup multiple GPIB busses, one for each host.

Regards, Dieter
« Last Edit: August 09, 2024, 06:47:19 am by dietert1 »

Offline r6502Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2024, 11:03:19 am »
Hi Dieter,