Author Topic: Bench Power Supply?  (Read 4358 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Bench Power Supply?
« on: April 18, 2016, 03:46:12 pm »
Hi, I was just looking for a few opinions on a particular Bench Power Supply. Can it be used to power 3.3V/5V digital circuits? What is it good for?

Here's  picture of it:

Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
Re: Bench Power Supply?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2016, 09:54:03 pm »
I don't have any experience with this particular supply, but I think you can get an idea of what to expect by looking at reviews of similar products, e.g.

- Amazon reviews/questions for the HY3005D power supply: http://www.amazon.com/Mastech-HY3005D-Variable-Linear-Supply/dp/B000E14F56
- This repair video for a HY3005D-3:

Even though these are not exactly the same product, I would expect them to have similar design and performance characteristics.

From reading the Amazon critical reviews it seems that the HY3005D units are not good for delivering high amps for extended periods of time.

This unit can certainly be used to power your typical 3.3V/5V digital circuits. Since it has two adjustable outputs you could set one to 3.3V and the other to 5V if you had a circuit which required both voltages. Another common use for the two outputs is to drive op-amp circuits which require both a positive and negative rail. You can also configure the outputs in series to obtain voltages from 0 to 60 volts (at 5 A), or in parallel to obtain currents from 0-10 A (at 30 V max.)

Each output can optionally be grounded. Here's a quick explanation of how that works:

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2016, 04:55:09 am »
Thanks for taking your time to reply.
I was expecting a different answer though, being used to other sections of this forum.