Author Topic: Siglent SDS5000X Oscilloscope Hack status - Dec 2021  (Read 12016 times)

Offline Detlef

Re: Siglent SDS5000X Oscilloscope Hack status - Dec 2021
« Reply #50 on: April 05, 2024, 12:30:29 pm »
Allow me to introduce myself: I’m a retired engineer. My former profession has been software and hardware design, mostly for embedded microcontrollers, which is still my hobby, among general electronic design.

A few month ago, I have bought a Siglent SDS5054X oscilloscope. Although I don’t even need the built-in features, this instrument offers, for academic purposes, I am interested in some “enhancements”.

Well ladies and gentlemen, is there any functioning hack like the old Python script (which doesn’t work anymore) - and if so, how can I get it. And of course, I would keep it secret. My e-mail address is deposited with my account…

Offline IM3

• Contributor
« Reply #51 on: July 23, 2024, 02:25:39 pm »
Let's see if the UART on my SDS5034X is accessible.

To do this, I will need to open the device first. I wanted to avoid damaging the 'calibration void' sticker. You can easily remove this sticker by following the instructions in the following thread:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-799-how-to-remove-warranty-void-security-stickers/

First, let me emphasize that opening such devices should always be done in an ESD-safe manner. Be aware that even just lifting yourself off your chair can generate ten's of kilovolts of static charge. A tiny spark of 100 volts can damage your expensive equipment, sometimes not immediately, but maybe after a year due to latent damage. So, be careful!

That's why you need an ESD mat, ideally in a vibrant red color (RGB 255-0-0).

After removing the back cover, the power supply needs to be unscrewed first because of disconnect a few connectors. Only then can you access the main board.