Author Topic: New 2GHz touchscreen scope from Tek, June 6th  (Read 228469 times)

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: New 2GHz touchscreen scope from Tek, June 6th
« Reply #375 on: June 06, 2017, 02:44:49 pm »
Unfortunately the probe required to connect to the interface is obviously a delicate and expensive item that they just cannot give away, but as a one time offer they are pricing each probe at just north > US$1K.  Mate, but three or four, you won't regret it,

Correct me if I'm wrong, but previous MSO scopes like the MDO3000/4000, MSO3000 etc are all "MSO" scopes and they come with the 16 channel digital probe for free.
But the new "MSO" 54/56/58, although sold as an "MSO" do not come with digital probes, and it will cost you $1800 extra for each 8 channels, or $3600 extra for what you got for free with existing "MSO" Tek scopes?
If so, should these not be sold as "DSO54/6/8"?
Tek is selling FlexChannels, so technically it should be named FSO (Flex Storage Oscilloscope), or as Dave says, just plain DSO, because you cannot use it as MSO unless you pay the $1800 ransom money for each 8 digital channels

Offline djnz

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #376 on: June 06, 2017, 02:59:40 pm »
Correct me if I'm wrong, but previous MSO scopes like the MDO3000/4000, MSO3000 etc are all "MSO" scopes and they come with the 16 channel digital probe for free.

This is not true for the MDO3000 series - it does not come with any logic probes as standard. You need to buy the MDO3MSO option to enable the MSO software in the scope and that option price also includes a logic probe. They also sell the probe separately (probably for replacements), but just plugging it in the probe does not automatically enable the MSO functionality.

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #377 on: June 06, 2017, 03:09:50 pm »
It would have been really nice to have a dedicated channel button above each input connector.

It does!

Online EEVblog