Author Topic: Need urgent advice on which scope to buy to record waveforms  (Read 6663 times)

Online rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Need urgent advice on which scope to buy to record waveforms
« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2016, 02:37:45 am »
Before I gave up on the Siglent, I would read about the History functionality.  I have no idea what it does but it seems to be a step in the right direction.

I am far from an expert with the RECORD feature of the Rigol DS1054Z but it seems to work.  I chose to record just one frame and then ran the FFT on the stored waveform.  It would be better to post a new thread requesting user experience with RECORD.

Anyway, here is the waveform and FFT:

Online rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: December 29, 2016, 02:45:58 am »
OK thanks everyone, I ve just did everything with my analog discovery 2 - did not know it has a recording mode.

Still would be happy to buy a great scope as this occasion made me unhappy about my entry level siglent - it was useless for me. I definitely made a wrong choice when I bought it, shame on me for not doing any due diligence.

So I am still interested what is the best scope on the market these days, with the recording feature, with the ability to run the FFT on the fragment of the recorded wave etc.

Best?  Probably one of the $150,000 Keysights!  Just guessing...

Bang for the buck?  Probably the Rigol DS1054Z.

Better scopes abound but they start at 3x the cost and go up from there.  I would drive a stake in the ground for price or you will get replies from entry level to top-of-the-line.

Offline dimbmwTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #27 on: December 29, 2016, 07:44:17 am »
Before I gave up on the Siglent, I would read about the History functionality.  I have no idea what it does but it seems to be a step in the right direction.