Author Topic: Automotive oscilloscope suggestions  (Read 4648 times)

Offline Freak007Topic starter

Automotive oscilloscope suggestions
« on: January 01, 2021, 04:16:20 pm »
Good morning and a happy new year everyone.

I am currently in the market for an ocilliscope that will be primarily used for diagnostics of automotive drivability issues.

A little about myself, I am an auto tech by trade. I am familiar with the use of a scope in this capacity, but I would not consider myself an expert. In the past, I have used the Snap On Vantage Pro, Modis and Picoscope 3223. I prefer the portability of the Vantage Pro, but the screen and user interface of the Picoscope. I have used a Hantek once, but did not like the provided software.

I am no longer employed in the automotive industry, but I still do alot of automotive and power sports work for myself and my family, as well as the occasional side job, so this scope would be used in a mostly home/hobbiest type environment. My budget is $250-300.

I was originally going to get the Picoscope 2205 and use it with the standard software and attenuators. However, I am not dead set on it, and some recent searching has me wondering if there is possibly other options to consider. For example, maybe the VDS1022I, or a used Fluke 97/98? I'm also not directly opposed to a bench unit (GDS 1054B?), but I am concerned about portability and durability with it's intended use.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Automotive oscilloscope suggestions
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2021, 04:23:46 pm »
MicSig ATO1102 could be an option but nearly twice your budget.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline Dennis Frie

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2021, 04:37:58 pm »