Author Topic: Longest desktop instruments (in a home lab)?  (Read 1136 times)

Offline FaranightTopic starter

• Supporter
Longest desktop instruments (in a home lab)?
« on: July 20, 2024, 10:14:07 am »
Hey, a bit of an odd question, but what is the maximum instrument depth that one can expect to have in a home lab? I'm currently trying to dimension some workbench shelving for my instruments, and I'm having trouble deciding how much space to reserve. I already have a number of lab instruments (PSU's, scopes, DMM's, freq gens, a programmable load, etc), and my current longest instrument is the DMM6500 at about 400 mm plus some space for cabling in the back. I already made the mistake of going for 300 mm shelving, but that was before I got the DMM6500 and I had to plan a redesign. I'm not a professional electronics person, but I do love electronics as a hobby very much, and I see myself getting a desktop VNA, a frequency counter and maybe some other instruments in the future.

Is 400 mm deep shelving a reasonable choice?
If you have a desktop (not a rack) instrument that is longer than 400 mm, which one is it and how long is it?
Fara-day? Fara-night.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Longest desktop instruments (in a home lab)?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2024, 10:22:01 am »
40cm is minimum; most equipment will fit on a 40cm shelve but also make sure to get a couple of meters of 50cm shelve to store larger (older) equipment. That should get you going for 99% of the equipment. I do have a large DC load which measures 65+ cm but that just sits on top of a storage trolley by lack of a better space.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2024, 10:24:08 am by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

The following users thanked this post: egonotto, pdenisowski

Offline factory

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2024, 10:27:02 am »