Author Topic: Logic Analyzer, Mixed Signal Oscilloscope, or DS1054Z????  (Read 7047 times)

Offline MDM3DTopic starter

• Contributor
Logic Analyzer, Mixed Signal Oscilloscope, or DS1054Z????
« on: August 01, 2016, 03:29:32 pm »
Hello
I am a Mechanical Engineer with little background when it comes to the correct tools to solve a problem so I will ask here what my best step to take to solve this current problem.

I am having trouble with a SPI bus. The board is a Arduino DUE based board and I have 7 devices on the SPi bus with the DUE set up as master. The devices are and ethernet IC, A ST7920 LCD display adapter, 4 Max31855 thermocouple ic, and an SD card.  There is a persistent 2 horizontal lines across the display. and when the sdcard is removed the everything works as intended except for the two horizontal lines. When the sd card is inserted the sd card can be read and written to and the display is responsive but the thermocouple ic all read 1's and go back to normal when the sd card is removed. I have a basic DMM and an old M0-1251 20Mhz 2 channel scope that I was given. However I cannot figure out a good way to view the Spi bus and most of the signals seem to be to fast for even the scope and the DMM is only useful for measuring the chip select lines(sort of).