Author Topic: Keysight 1200A X Series (EDUX1052A) P-Clock and I-Clock malfunction error  (Read 2011 times)

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
I have a KS EDUX1052A I am trying to hack to a full blown DSOX1202G.  It started giving me P-Clock and I-Clock malfunction errors at startup and does not show any traces.  Self test says ADC TrigComp and Mux error.  Scope is responsive, demo signals still work as well as the hacked wavegen.  Has anyone seen this error before on any KS Infiniivision scope?   

Offline tv84

• Super Contributor
I have a KS EDUX1052A I am trying to hack to a full blown DSOX1202G. 

Please detail what you have done.

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
0. Changed resistor configuration to set to DSOX1202G model
1. Added the missing components on the digital input (external trigger) section as required by DSOX models vs EDUX.
2. Added the missing components on the waveform generator section.  Used the existing solder on the empty pads, added no-clean flux, added the components and soldered with hot air soldering iron.  It was not working well, so added more flux, resoldered, checked with magnifier, swapped components... in the process of debugging the waveform generator, ended adding to much flux, and other parts of the board started to get compromised... traces not being at Ground level, CH2 showing the same signal as CH1 (even when the front-end sections were not touched at all).
3. Cleaned with alcohol, waveform section worked better, but not 100% perfect. 
4. CH1 and CH2 traces were off, sometimes when started, they were out of bounds, one on the positive side, the other on the negative side.
5. Decided to run self-calibration... failed and not able to return to previous calibration state.  Changed back to EDUX1052A but calibration failed.