Author Topic: Used Fluke 87V - is my input jack receptacle okay? Also, removing spilled paint?  (Read 8230 times)

Offline Goodwill HuntingTopic starter

• Contributor
I bought a used Fluke 87V today.  It is a backup to another Fluke 87V, so I am familiar with using the model. 

The input jack receptacle is off for the 2 leftmost jacks (A and mA).  The other two (COM and V) are perfectly square in their spot, but the two on the left are almost touching the sides. 

On my other Fluke 87V, all 4 are even and in the center.  I can still insert both Pomona and Fluke branded test leads with no trouble whatsoever, but it seems wrong.  Is this something to be concerned about?  Is it normal?  I am aware I can solder in a new receptacle, and I will do that if it's needed, but maybe this is common and I just don't know.

Second question:  The previous owner spilled paint on the Fluke,  You can see in the prior pictures plus these additional pictures:

I am no expert on plastics or paints.  Can I use acetone to remove the paint without damaging the plastic?  I tried alcohol with no effect.

Thanks for any input!

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
I don't know what resin it's made of: the injection mold usually has letters that identify the material, visible on the inside surface.
But in general, acetone does attack plastics, melting them. A slightly safer solvent for that paint stain is xylene.

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Is this something to be concerned about?  Is it normal?  I am aware I can solder in a new receptacle, and I will do that if it's needed, but maybe this is common and I just don't know.
Can't say I ever noticed or checked for this on any meter.  As long as the probes go in/out fine, I wouldn't be too worried.  A new input jack receptacle will cost you about $23 to $27 USD on ebay.

Modemhead does have these blog entries that you might find interesting.  I see he is reading this thread.