Author Topic: How is TDS2014 as a starter oscilliscope  (Read 2668 times)

Offline primitiveTopic starter

How is TDS2014 as a starter oscilliscope
« on: December 26, 2020, 02:51:29 pm »
Is getting Tektronix TDS2014 (TDS2025) a great option now? How do they compare to new options like Siglent  SDS1104X-E.

I'm just getting into electronics and plan to do mostly digital circuits with Arduino as well as some low frequency analog work.  I'll follow some online college lab work, which includes some FM radio projects.  As such, I'm targeting a 100MHz 4 channel ones.

Used Tek TDS2014 on eBay go for as little as $450 or so.  They seem to be solid and durable and Tek is praised for UX, though with much lower memory depth than the modern alternatives.

So my question is: how should I evaluate these two options and what aspects should I consider?

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: How is TDS2014 as a starter oscilliscope
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2020, 04:04:34 pm »
Those Tektronix scopes are a waste of money compared to what you can buy new from Chinese / Taiwanes manufacturers nowadays. Just check the many 'I need to choose an oscilloscope' threads in this section to get an idea on what is out there. For your purpose buy an oscilloscope which had decoding and good FFT.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2020, 04:07:05 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline georges80

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2020, 05:35:47 pm »
I owned a TDS2014 several years back and had a freebee TDS2012. They are very limited in capability versus modern digital scopes and I would consider it wasted money in purchasing one. Sold each for around $800 on ebay and that was a good day :)