Author Topic: Rigol DS1074Z or Hantek DSO1202E ?  (Read 3153 times)

Offline geoffreyHTopic starter

• Nobelios
Rigol DS1074Z or Hantek DSO1202E ?
« on: November 03, 2015, 06:32:15 pm »
Hello everyone,

I am new on the forum, and English is not my native language. So if you have some doubts about my request, or if my English seem to be bad, I am open to constructive remarks.

First of all, I am a french chemist and I am doing my thesis in Belfast (Northern Ireland / UK). I practice electronics as a hobby since 8-9 years, meanly teardown, repairing, reverse engineering laboratory equipment. I need a transportable oscilloscope, I hold an old analogical scope, a Philips 2x50MHz but I don't remember the model. Because I can't take my old fashioned television oversized scope of 8Kgs in plane, I am strongly interested by a DSO. Which is, sooooo lighter!

Due to my student position, I am not that rich, so I take a look to the Hantek, OWON, Rigol, ... brands. I don't need extra gadget features like Logic Analyser or multimeter. I hold a small USB PCB logic analyser that work fine for me and a good multi-meter.

I heard that Rigol is a brand name of Agilent, I known Agilent with the scientist stuff like X-Ray on single crystal, Gas Chromatography, etc. I am sure that Agilent is an excellent brand but what about Rigol?

I am interested by an oscilloscope with a good sampling rate, if possible a sufficient sampling memory and a good bandwidth. I would like to make some radio stuff as a training but most of my work require less than 50Mhz of bandwidth.

So, today I hesitate between two scopes:

The DS1074Z from Rigol and the DSO1202E from Hantek.

The DS1074Z come with the following parameters:
    100MHz,70MHz Bandwidth, 4 channels
    1G Sa/s Real-time Sample Rate
    12Mpts (Std.) and 24Mpts (Opt.) Memory Depth
    Innovative "UltraVision" technology
    Up to 30,000wfms/s Waveform Capture Rate
    Up to 60,000frames Real-time Waveform Record(Opt.)