Author Topic: Help me choosing new Oscilloscope  (Read 12374 times)

Offline Performa01

• Super Contributor
Re: Help me choosing new Oscilloscope
« Reply #75 on: April 12, 2023, 10:10:07 am »
Thanks for all those interesting links. I will try to keep up with this information and try not to look like a complete noob next time.  ::)
Time to get my new scope soon and get hands on experience. Obviously this all can be done "right", but sometimes people just do not care about the wave looking "jaggy" on the DSO screen.
I forgot to provide you with the most relevant link though:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sds2000x-plus-bandwidth-aliasing-application-note/

This is a detailed discussion about bandwidth and sample rate - and how they both impact signal representation and -fidelity, based on facts and practical demonstrations using appropriate gear.

I cannot resist    QUOTE:
Slow sample rates, short memories, the attempt, to overcome this
Are you talking about scopes or my current mentation? Seems quite accurate both ways..

Me too! ... we don't exactly get younger, do we?  ;) :-DD

The following users thanked this post: smallfreak, Wallace Gasiewicz

Offline smallfreak

• Contributor
« Reply #76 on: April 14, 2023, 03:51:51 pm »
I forgot to provide you with the most relevant link though:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sds2000x-plus-bandwidth-aliasing-application-note/

This is a detailed discussion about bandwidth and sample rate - and how they both impact signal representation and -fidelity, based on facts and practical demonstrations using appropriate gear.

Ah, really! It took a while to find the hidden gem (attachment) that is part of your entry post. Very interesting indeed. I saved it in my library.

I could have saved a lot of time reading, if I had found this earlier. All questions answered.  :-+

Thanks again - fellow countryman.  :D

The following users thanked this post: Performa01

Offline smallfreak

• Contributor