Author Topic: First Spectrum Analyzer , new Rigol, used HP on ebay ?  (Read 36001 times)

Offline danny_isrTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
First Spectrum Analyzer , new Rigol, used HP on ebay ?
« on: February 16, 2016, 10:30:28 pm »
I'm doing some hobby experiments with AM/FM radio and transmitters. I'm pretty sure the Rigol DSA815-TG is more then enough for that.

Though am thinking in the future to work on 2.4Ghz transivers (for home automation projects). The 815 is limited to 1.5Ghz.
I saw on eBay: HP 8594E 2.9 GHz, and they go for less then $1k (sometimes), but it's older and i'm not sure about their performance and reliability.

I'm new to RF and don't know enough about it to understand if i need the capability to measure beyond 1.5Ghz, when working with 2.4Ghz Transmitters/receivers.

SA is quite an investment after all...

Offline kd5iku

Re: First Spectrum Analyzer , new Rigol, used HP on ebay ?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 12:44:52 am »
The rigol may work for you, but it depends on what you want to see. What kind of experiments are you wanting to do? The 100hz minimum RBW of the 815 is probably too coarse for certain applications. My previous SA had a minimum RBW of 10hz and worked fine for just about anything I threw at it. (I am an amateur radio operator so it is CW and SSB for me.)

Are you planning on designing from scratch the 2.4ghz trx?

Offline uncle_bob

• Supporter
AZA
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 01:19:48 am »
Hi

There are a couple of "divides" in the HP empire:

There is the older gear with simple tubes that seem to hold intensity for a long time ( = do not wear out). After that came ever more interesting CRT's that added color. They can get pretty dim pretty fast. The newer E series stuff seems to have that issue taken care of.

Next there is the rather wide range of instruments. Some stuff was made for cost sensitive markets. Other stuff was pretty high spec. Be very careful you don't bump from one to the other.