Author Topic: Help with scope purchase decision  (Read 2942 times)

Offline WaveyDipoleTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Help with scope purchase decision
« on: November 09, 2016, 03:22:08 pm »
For some time now I have been considering the purchase of a DSO. Having seen many favourable (and some unfavourable) comments about the Rigol DS1054Z, I was considering a purchase based on price only. I’m a hobbyist and although I would like a useful instrument, I can’t justify spending several hundreds or even thousands on one.

I have also looked at PicoScopes, but anything with a comparable spec to Rigol and Sigilent was way higher in price by comparison, especially considering that the latter are complete standalone scopes.

One thing that holds me back from the DS1054Z are the negative comments and the fact that there is no external trigger port. I have a Thandar LA160 logic analyser device that connects to a scope using a vertical channel and an external trigger input. It is an old device operating at only 20MHz, but it has 16 channels and it works nicely on my analogue scope, but it might be useful to use it on the new DSO. However, the absence of the external trigger is an issue and led me to think about other instruments from Rigol, Hantek and Sigilent.

Hantek do not seem to compete on features. Sigilent do not seem quite up there on features vs price point but come close. So what about one of the better Rigol scopes?