Author Topic: eevblog BM786 multimeter bug?  (Read 2023 times)

Offline geonakTopic starter

eevblog BM786 multimeter bug?
« on: August 28, 2021, 04:50:25 pm »
Hello everyone, long time follower first time poster.
A while back I had bought an eevblog bm786 multimeter, to replace my cheap chinese one.
I was working on an atx psu yesterday, and was testing the rectifier diodes, along the way I had some doubts about the results of the 786 and compared it with my cheap chinese one. To my surprise the 786 was saying the diodes were shorted while the chinese one measured the voltage drop correctly. (video: https://youtube.com/shorts/qROTB7-rbQY?feature=share)
The component I was testing is an 30l60ct, and I tested 3 of them with the same results.
Mind you I am a beginner so it might be a user error, or maybe it is a bug/problem with the multimeter?
So I am posting the question here to hear your thoughts and understand what is going on.
- is it a user error?
- if not, is it a problem with my specific unit?
- is it a prpblem with all 786s?

Thank you for your help!

Cheers,

G

Offline AVGresponding

• Super Contributor
  • Exploring Rabbit Holes Since The 1970s
Re: eevblog BM786 multimeter bug?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2021, 05:32:52 pm »
Is the reading on that yellow meter 0.56V or 56mV? Can't see the dp in the video.

If it's 56mV, that's way below what the Vf should be, and close enough to the reading from the 786.
nuqDaq yuch Dapol?
Addiction count: Agilent-AVO-BlackStar-Brymen-Chauvin Arnoux-Fluke-GenRad-Hameg-HP-Keithley-IsoTech-Mastech-Megger-Metrix-Micronta-Racal-RFL-Siglent-Solartron-Tektronix-Thurlby-Time Electronics-TTi-UniT

Offline bdunham7

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2021, 05:36:55 pm »