Author Topic: DIY budget auto test oscilliscope and current clamp  (Read 322 times)

daheee and 9 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online daheeeTopic starter

DIY budget auto test oscilliscope and current clamp
« on: Yesterday at 11:47:43 am »
Looking for opinions on my choice.

I'd like a scope for diagnosing issues with my vehicles. I also need a current meter that goes up to 200 amps capable of testing the starter, etc. I am a newbie with this stuff.

Here's what I was thinking of:

OWON CP024 DC AC Current Probe for Digital Storage Oscilloscope 4A to 400A Bandwidth 200kHz 23mm Jaw Three-Gear Current Clamp

And

OWON VDS1022(I) PC Digital PC Oscilloscope.

These two items will run me roughly $350. I considered the uscope master kit from aeswave, but it lacks the higher amp current probe. I'd like something reliable - I don't want to waste my money on junk and I lack the skills to improve or fix issues.

I'm fine with using a bench scope too. And I'm fine with buying used.

Are my current picks good? Or should I consider other options?

Offline jal1234

• Contributor
Re: DIY budget auto test oscilliscope and current clamp
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 12:13:45 pm »
For automotive use, you'd be better off with Martin Loren's Hscope app on an Android phone or tablet, and his HS502 or HS512 scope. Depending on settings, those scopes are up to 12 bit with very low noise. Hscope is a very friendly pure Android app. You can find it on the Android playstore, and can use it in demo mode. The HS502 and HS512 come with licenses for the basic scope and automotive mode pre-installed. There is a very active group on Telegram, and Martin regularly checks in. App improvements are constant.
Martinloren.com is his website.

There are also many videos on YouTube. Just search on Hscope. Some good posters of videos are:
The Gadget playlist
Martin Loren
and Ravifix.

Do a search on Telegram for Hscope and Hscope Automotive

Jon

« Reply #2 on: Yesterday at 07:15:21 pm »