Author Topic: Direct comparison aspects on Siglent SDS2000X Plus vs. SDS1000X HD  (Read 1145 times)

sonpul, Uli Auer, blurpy and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Uli AuerTopic starter

• Contributor
Hey folks,

after being almost sold on the MSO5000 (I'm a hobbyist still buying my first DSO after a trusty HP/Agilent 54610B 500MHz), I'm now heading towards the Siglent route after 3 weeks of research - first and foremost for (frontend) noise reasons and my main application being supposed to be audio work (with a little bonus towards embedded systems development).

As I've narrowed it down to the Siglent SDS2000X Plus and the new SDS1000X HD - which are both on my bench right now as demo units for direct comparisons, due to the lack of real experience I'm a little insecure about which one to get.

So I'm happy to hear your opinions on pros/cons for these two....

I think we can skip any aspects of ergonomics (although I prefer the 1kxHD's control's feel) and personal taste. Most of the form factors like display size etc. match anyway, same goes for the software features.

What I'm after are those fine little differences in specs that might (or might not) matter regarding true performance.
I found it interesting to see that making some simple noise measurements (open channel) - and also measurements with low-level signals from a 2-ch AWG (like sine or square waves with for example 100mV rms) both units show pretty much the same results - although the 2KX+ has "only" the 8-bit frontend with 10-bit software mode but the 1KHD has real 12-bit....

There are some parameters from the data sheets I can't evaluate whether they really make an important difference or in which application,
(A = SDS2000X Plus, B = SDS1000X HD) for example:

- (analog aquisition) peak detect:      A: 1ns         B: 2ns minimum detectable pulse

- vertical offset accuracy:      A: +/-1.5%        B: +/- 0.5%

- DC gain accuracy:      A: ≤3%        B: +/- 1.5% and +/- 0.5%