Author Topic: Complex triggering on modern DSO  (Read 1468 times)

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Complex triggering on modern DSO
« on: May 14, 2019, 09:45:27 pm »
Is there any scope in the market that can do complex triggering like NORMAL trigger on a specific event and then SINGLE trigger on another event?

Example: I am trying to measure the triggering and decoding capability of SPI signals on some DSOs, I am sending 280,000 SPI messages, ranging from 1 to 8 bytes long.  The message with 8 bytes ends with the byte 0x74.  So there is 35,000 messages containing 0x74.  I want to trigger in NORMAL mode while searching for 0x74, but once in a while, at the press of a button, I am sending a single byte packet with value 0x75 and I want the scope to capture it and STOP.

The objective is to verify if the DSO can trigger on byte value 0x75 that occurs at random, while it is at the same time triggering and decoding on byte value 0x74

Is it possible?

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Complex triggering on modern DSO
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2019, 09:56:35 pm »
Not that I know off. This kind of trigger complexity is logic analyser territory.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

The following users thanked this post: Keysight DanielBogdanoff

Online 2N3055

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2019, 10:05:55 pm »
What nctnico said.

On 3000T you could set trigger for 0x74 and set last bit to don't care, so it would trigger on both 0x74 and 0x75. Then you set mask for 0x74 and set it to stop on violation.

The following users thanked this post: Keysight DanielBogdanoff, TK

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2019, 10:32:27 pm »
What nctnico said.