Author Topic: Cheap scopes, Siglent vs Rigol  (Read 20038 times)

Offline RmaddTopic starter

Cheap scopes, Siglent vs Rigol
« on: October 03, 2016, 04:59:32 pm »
So I'm currently an EE student and I'm looking to start a small electronics lab to learn more about everything and maybe do a few projects.  On the subject of O scopes, I want a relatively cheap one that doesn't completely suck so following Daves advice I was going to pull the trigger on a Rigol DS1054Z ($400 US).  Then I noticed Siglent makes the 1052DL for $240... I did a few searches and nobody on here really talks about it, even though the amazon reviews are very positive.  Baisically what I'm asking is has anyone had experience witht the Siglent and would you recommend it for a first time scope buyer, over the Rigol.

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
Re: Cheap scopes, Siglent vs Rigol
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2016, 05:26:52 pm »
1052DL for $240
yeah, there are reasons for that.

32k memory points for instance
No serial decode is another

1072CML+ is newer, with more memory, with more bandwidth for a sligtly higher price, but still no decode. if i had to buy a siglent i wouldn't get anything less than sds1000x series

anyway, siglent makes better hardware than rigol, as much better as it can be when you are racing to the lowest cost
« Last Edit: October 03, 2016, 05:34:45 pm by JPortici »

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2016, 05:40:12 pm »
1052DL for $240

1072CML+ is newer, with more memory, with more bandwidth for a sligtly higher price, but still no decode. if i had to buy a siglent i wouldn't get anything less than sds1000x series

anyway, siglent makes better hardware than rigol, as much better as it can be when you are racing to the lowest cost

Would I grow out of the 1052 too quickly for it to be worth it?

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2016, 05:49:32 pm »