Author Topic: Buying an Oscilloscope as a Beginner  (Read 4544 times)

Offline PCgeeTopic starter

Buying an Oscilloscope as a Beginner
« on: September 11, 2020, 07:09:34 pm »
Hey all,
I am an electrical engineering student who is trying to slowly build up my collection of equipment and currently that includes finding an oscilloscope. Now I've been browsing the web and know that the Rigol DS1045z is an excellent scope for the price and highly recommended and would likely satisfy my needs for many years to come, but I think for now it's honestly somewhat excessive for my needs and more money than I would like to spend.

With that in mind I have been proceeding to look for older analog oscilloscopes for sale as I don't really feel like I need to do too much detailed analysis and mostly just need to view the waveforms and take some basic measurement.

I watched Dave's video on picking one up for $50 and have been trying to follow the tips but wow has it been difficult. Apparently people in my area don't understand that just cause something is older doesn't make it antique. The only scope I've been able to find on local classified sites (Kijiji and Facebook Buy and Sell) is a Kikusui COS 5060, it is in very good condition but the owner wants $240 (Canadian roubles that is) for it which seems excessive to say the least, and I can't imagine it would be very easy to talk them down much on it. I've checked Ebay and there are some more reasonable options however the prices for shipping is quite insane, often equal to or well above the price the sellers want for the scopes.

Basically what I'm wondering is if I should just pony up the money and get something new or if it's worth continually bargain shopping hoping that something pops up I can snag. If you guys have any tips it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
PCgee

Offline sokoloff

• Super Contributor
Re: Buying an Oscilloscope as a Beginner
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2020, 07:15:21 pm »