Author Topic: Building a lab from the ground up. Need some suggestions.  (Read 23833 times)

Offline cvrivTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Building a lab from the ground up. Need some suggestions.
« on: November 12, 2015, 09:13:01 am »
I didn't think I would have to ask for suggestions when it comes to equipment, but i think it's a good idea to see what others think. Firstly, i am an EE student. Fairly new to it; Im learning the basics now. Im doing very well in my classes. Now, I have $4000 - $5000 to spend. I have nothing to start with. I did just get done purchasing a PC for this lab so that is taken care of already. I need a power supply,  a bench DMM, an digital oscilloscope, soldering and desoldering gear, etc. A function generator. Now, 4 - 5000 is a lot, but it's not and I know all of you know this. Even though I would like to get everything i need with this 4 - 5000 i would like even more to get the best most important stuff first and then get the other smaller stuff in time. You know what i mean? The power suppy, oscilloscope, and bench DMM are the most important. I havent used a function generator in school yet so i dont know how important it is. Anyways, im will to spend a good amount of money on the power supply, DMM, and oscilloscope. I need these to be good for now and for anything that i could possibly want to do down the road. Knowing me, I out grow stuff pretty quick. For the oscilloscope i was thinking a either a Rigol DS2072A or a used DS2202 or maybe even a DS2202A if i can break a deal with a seller. Any objections to these? What do you think? For a bench DM. I was thinking an Agilent 34401A? An objection to this? A power supply, Im not sure. I was thinking the Rigol DP832, but Dave Jones ran into problems with it. Any suggestions for a similar power supply that is reliable? I havent even looked into a function generator yet or a soldering and desoldering station. A desoldering station is going to be important because i will be tearing apa