Author Topic: ISO Tech IPS 603 Display Issue  (Read 1692 times)

Offline MusicmanagerTopic starter

ISO Tech IPS 603 Display Issue
« on: July 16, 2021, 11:15:09 am »
Hi Guys

A new member, please be gentle .. .. .
I'm a retired teacher taken to electronics to keep me out of the way ! Very much a novice .. .. .. .

I recently acquired the Power Supply from Ebay for a song. It was explosive at the outset, but using some earlier posts I found on this forum and a lot of patience I've managed to get it working; It powers on, outputs as it should, but the digits on the screen are only visible 'at dusk with the light behind her !'

I've done some research and think that  the problem is related to the ratio of Vlcd to VDD ( at the moment they match )

The power connector to the process board ( +15; -15; 5v; 5v & 0v) is stable at the SMPS end, but if the Process Board is connected the 5v's remain stable, but the +15vdc rapidly drops to about 1.5v and then the -15vdc is all over the shop.

I've searched well but I cannot find anything else out of place .. .. .. .

Is there a chance anybody has faced and solved a similar issue .. .. . ? Any ideas ? ( Apart from drop kick it over the garage, I mean )

Thanks

S

Offline AVGresponding

• Super Contributor
  • Exploring Rabbit Holes Since The 1970s
Re: ISO Tech IPS 603 Display Issue
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2021, 01:09:30 pm »
Sounds very much like a failed component (probably a crapacitor) is pulling the voltage down.

I just acquired a 405 variant of this supply, which is probably very similar inside.

I'd suspect these smd jobbies first, if your 603 is the same as my 405 in substance.

nuqDaq yuch Dapol?
Addiction count: Agilent-AVO-BlackStar-Brymen-Chauvin Arnoux-Fluke-GenRad-Hameg-HP-Keithley-IsoTech-Mastech-Megger-Metrix-Micronta-Racal-RFL-Siglent-Solartron-Tektronix-Thurlby-Time Electronics-TTi-UniT

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2021, 04:28:22 pm »
Hi AVG

Thanks very much for your response .. .. .. .