Author Topic: Broken JYE Tech DSO150  (Read 1261 times)

Offline YurkshireLadTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Broken JYE Tech DSO150
« on: November 21, 2021, 08:25:15 pm »
I bought one those little JYE Tech DSO150s not that long ago. I know, I know. But I'm a beginner and for my basic audio needs I think it's a perfect little piece of kit. Anyway, I was using it this afternoon and it started showing really weird values. I was trying to measure a 4.5V bias input, but the DO150 was showing me -50V. I verified that the bias really was 4.5V using my multimeter. If I try to read the 9V from my power supply, it acts like it's reading a changing AC current and the duty cycle races up from 50% to 100%. It's really weird.

I tried taking it apart but whoever built it, wedged it all together in the case really tightly. I didn't want to accidentally destroy it by taking it apart, it as I was frustrated, so I'll try again another day. I'll try to see if anything obvious is burnt out inside.

No idea what I did to break it, but likely I did something stupid. But that's really annoying.  :palm:

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: Broken JYE Tech DSO150
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2021, 11:56:08 pm »
It doesn't look too complicated.

https://jyetech.com/dso-150-shell-oscilloscope/

Or read assembly instructions at the bottom here:
http://www.jyetech.com/Products/LcdScope/UserManual_Shell_new.pdf

The following users thanked this post: YurkshireLad

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2021, 12:03:16 am »
I fiddled with it again and it was working, so I don't know if it's the probe or the DSO150. It's really weird.

Offline Algoma

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2021, 12:34:31 am »