Author Topic: Beginner scope: MSO5000, SDS1104X-E, GDS-1054B/GDS-2000E  (Read 6003 times)

Offline Antonio90Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Beginner scope: MSO5000, SDS1104X-E, GDS-1054B/GDS-2000E
« on: June 06, 2020, 06:34:37 pm »
Hello everyone. I'm a beginner hobbyist setting up an electronics lab, and yeah, I'm also looking for advice on what scope to buy, and I've been reading quite a few posts about the most popular oscilloscopes, including reviews, opinions and "feature unlocking" threads.

I already have the parts for my first project (a linear power supply with 0-30v and 5 or 10 amps max.), a few more basic components and arduinos, soldering equipment, a few leads and connectors, two DMMs, some breadboards and a boatload of wall warts and laptop power supplies. I also have one of those little 15€ scopes which claim 200Khz bandwidth but are more like 50KHz.

I'm really a beginner: don't know much more than ohm's law and Thevenin and Norton's theorems, and I have a basic intuitive grasp of what most electronic components do. In the theory department of the hobby, I'm refreshing calculus, following The Art of Electronics, and periodically looking for help and exercises in books like Practical Electronics for Inventors and a few others.

As for what is the inteded use for the scope, well, I'm mostly interested in learning about power supplies, and my plan is to try and upgrade my power supply project to have at least two independent channels and tracking switching inputs before the linear regulators. It would also be nice to add some digital controls with programmability and data-logging, but I might be way over my head. I'm not in a hurry in any way though.
After that project, or maybe starting inbetween, I would like to build an audio amplifier with an integrated DAC. Most likely it wont be very good, but I want to learn about amplifiers. That's all I have planned right now, I guess there will be more projects coming along as I continue learning.