Author Topic: Current Probe Deskew Question  (Read 375 times)

Online TomKattTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Current Probe Deskew Question
« on: June 08, 2024, 12:26:49 am »
So I’m just learning about current probe Deskew fixtures…. Is this something that you should measure every time you use the same set of probes, or once you measure the skew with a specific set of probes is that somewhat of a constant latency?  In other words, if I got access to a Deskew fixture and measured the skew time for my current probe, would that latency time be constant so I could apply it the next time I used the same set of probes?

It seems like the time skew would be related more to the circuitry and cable length than anything else.  Though temperature probably plays a role, I’d guess it’s less of a variable than other physical attributes.
Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving with a PICt

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Current Probe Deskew Question
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2024, 12:48:23 am »
So I’m just learning about current probe Deskew fixtures…. Is this something that you should measure every time you use the same set of probes, or once you measure the skew with a specific set of probes is that somewhat of a constant latency?  In other words, if I got access to a Deskew fixture and measured the skew time for my current probe, would that latency time be constant so I could apply it the next time I used the same set of probes?

It seems like the time skew would be related more to the circuitry and cable length than anything else.  Though temperature probably plays a role, I’d guess it’s less of a variable than other physical attributes.
Channel Skew adjustment is not required when identical probes are in use.